Michelin backs new Formula E support series

French tyre manufacturer Michelin has signed up as the first sponsor of the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy, the new support series of the Formula E electric car-racing championship.

Michelin, an existing Formula E partner, will serve as the official tyre supplier of all 20 entrants in the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy.

The fully-electric series will run alongside selected Formula E races during the 2018-19 season. The series will be operated by British automotive marque Jaguar, which competes in Formula E.

Modified Jaguar I-Pace cars will have the opportunity to compete on the same weekend at selected Formula E events, using the same circuit layout as the stars of the electric street racing series – with the planned schedule consisting of a practice and qualifying session, followed by a 30-minute race.

So far, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing is the only confirmed entrant in the new series.

“Jaguar Racing are thrilled to have such an established motorsport partner like Michelin joining the Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy and we're confident they will help us to deliver a successful and exciting series,” team director James Barclay said. 

“Since the global announcement in September and the reveal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing as the first team in November 2017 there has continued to be positive interest and we look forward to announcing more partners and teams over the following months.”

Michelin was one of Formula E’s founding partners and has served as the series’ official tyre supplier since its inaugural season in 2014. Michelin last month extended its partnership with the series to run until the end of the 2020-21 season.