Grand Slam of Darts lands new title sponsor

Online betting company Bwin has been unveiled as the new title sponsor of the Grand Slam of Darts event, which takes place annually in the English city of Wolverhampton.

Bwin has agreed a two-year deal with the Professional Darts Corporation to take on naming rights to the 2017 and 2018 editions of the event.

Bwin replaces Singha Beer as the title sponsor of the event, with the Thai company’s three-year agreement having expired after the 2016 tournament, which was won for the second consecutive year by world No.1 Michael van Gerwen (pictured).

This year’s event takes place at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall from November 11-19. Prize money for the tournament will increase to £450,000 (€516,000/$548,000), with the winner to pick up £110,000.

PDC chairman Barry Hearn said: “Their (Bwin’s) previous sponsorship of the World Cup of Darts came at a time of huge growth for that event in Germany in 2014 and 2015.

"Their backing of the Grand Slam of Darts will not only showcase the brand across nine days of fantastic darts in Wolverhampton, but provides worldwide exposure through Sky Sports and our international broadcast partners."

The Grand Slam of Darts is a cross-code event and is contested by PDC and British Darts Organisation players. Thirty-two players will compete at this year’s event, which will feature a round-robin group phase followed by a knockout stage.